Thanks To The Chicago Protests, I’ll Finally Be Talking To My Kid About Donald Trump

For the past several weeks, my son has been asking me a ton of questions about Donald Trump that I have not been prepared to answer.

3ts9hti

I think it’s really tough for me to answer his questions because my son knows exactly what he sees on television – Donald Trump throwing jabs at Mitt Romney, Marco Rubio, or anyone else who has an opinion about him. What do I say to a first grader, who has been dealing with bullying over the past several months, and who sees a grown ass man doing it to other people?

Well one thing I didn’t tell my son was that Trump would be our next commander-in-chief. In fact, it seems like a number of people have made the same decision, as headlines have been blazing with news about Chicagoans shutting down a Trump rally (and perhaps traffic) on March 12. Yahoo! News reported,

Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump canceled one of his signature rallies on Friday, calling off the event due to safety concerns after protesters packed the arena where he was scheduled to speak.

The announcement the billionaire businessman would postpone the rally led a large portion of the crowd inside the University of Illinois at Chicago Pavilion to break out into raucous cheers. Many rushed onto the floor, jumping up and down with their arms up in the air.

As I watched the news of protestors who had basically run a man out of town – and remember, this is the same man whose whole election platform runs solely on bigotry, hate, and school yard bullying remarks – I went over in my head what I would tell my son the next time he asked me about Trump. I know that my son will be bringing up the subject really soon, especially after he sees me watching the news about the Chicago protests.

To many parents, addressing this subject with a 7-year-old kid may not be that big of a deal. But for my son, this is a huge deal.

potus_code
Whitehouse.gov

Since he first learned about him in kindergarten, my son has always been inspired by President Obama, even when his dad and I appeared displeased with his policies. The fact that POTUS is brown, loves kids, and always has an encouraging word for children is a huge plus in my child’s eyes. When President Obama comes on television, he points and smiles, “Look mom! It’s the president!” I think that any leader of the free world should inspire that kind of response, even while they’re campaigning.

That said, based on our last conversation, I’m pretty sure that our next chat about Donald Trump will happen as I’m watching the evening news, and it will probably  go like this:

Son: Mommy, why is does everyone hate Donald Trump?

Me: *pours a tall glass of wine* Because…*takes a large gulp* Donald Trump has said some very mean things to people. A lot of people. Including people we love, like our friend Papu and his family who are Muslim. They’ve always been really nice to us, right? He even tells you to get good grades in school, and gives you candy sometimes. How could anyone be mean to Papu?

Son: Maybe Donald Trump should give people candy.

Me: Nope. *drinks last of the wine*

Son: Why not?

Me: *Pours another glass* Because giving people candy won’t help him get elected, son.You have to care about the people you serve when it comes to being president. If you care about them, then you won’t say mean things about them.

Okay, I think I’ve prepped myself pretty well.

Have you talked to your kids about Donald Trump? How did you approach the conversation with them?

 

 

Leave a Reply

