Study: Taking Vacations Could Help You Lose Weight, Gain Confidence, Have More Sex

There’s something about traveling that makes you want to be sexier.

The only time I’ve traveled outside of the country was when I was in the military. But for some reason, I worked a lot harder to get sexy beyond my normal, military workout routine. I wanted to be sexified, and I acted like it.

I worked as hard as I could to burn off more calories than I ate, no matter how many Mediterranean or Middle Eastern ports we stopped in. I would run for more than an hour every morning at 4 a.m. every other day, just to make sure that my jeans fit nicely.

Maybe I did it because of all those sexified Europeans wandering the beach bare chested, and in their skivvies. Maybe it was because I really liked my jeans. I can’t tell you why I was so focused on weight loss. All I knew was that while I was traveling, I wanted to be extremely fucking sexy.

But I just learned the perhaps my natural desire of wanting to get sexy while traveling is connected. Uproxx reported,

Expedia surveyed a total of 31 million travelers who had taken a vacation in the last year. Of those surveyed, 81 percent said they felt better as a direct result of their vacation. That fact shouldn’t surprise anyone, of course taking a vacation will make you feel better, but the study also suggests that taking a vacation can help you lose weight, gain confidence, feel younger, and yes, even have more sex.

A lot about this study makes sense to me. I felt so great traveling around the Med and the Middle East while engaging in high impact exercises. It was to the point where I would hold off eating anything until I had just the right meal. The result is that I still remember the delicious foods that I tasted while I was traveling. Especially the pate, salmon, and sangria in Portugal.

emmastone-yum

The report also said that the sunshine you get while traveling could also be the reason why you feel so amazing while globe trotting. Uproxx reported,

“Exposure to a healthy amount of sunshine is also believed to increase the brain’s release of the hormone serotonin,” said [Dr. Linda] Papadopoulos [who helped with the study]. “Which is associated with boosting mood and helping a person feel calm and focused.”

The study also showed that more than two million respondents claimed that traveling made them more creative. It makes sense, because having a new experience is inspiring, and an increase in levels of Serotonin gives us a more positive thought process in approaching creative challenges.

By this part of the article, I was convinced that this story was really freaking accurate. The sunshine in Dubai had me extra-focused on experiencing as much as I could before leaving, like the souks and the mall. But when I went to Cypress during bad weather, I was bored to tears.

I can’t account for the sex part, because I didn’t have much of it. However, when I got home, I almost got pregnant. That should tell you something about how sexy I was.

Have you ever traveled outside of the country? If so, did you feel all pumped about it, the way this article describes? 

Leave a Reply

