I Watched BuzzFeed’s “Questions Black People Have For Black People” While (Legally) High, & It Still Sucks

I’ve been nursing a chest cold that somehow turned into bronchitis, which would have surely turned into pneumonia had I waited any longer to seek medical attention.

While I was asking God to please remember to ask Sister Carol to put me on the “sick and shut in list,” I happened to see BuzzFeed’s latest video, 27 Questions Black People Have For Other Black People. It was sickening to watch while I was under the influence of legally prescribed drugs, and now that I’ve come down off of my legal high, it’s still sickening.

Mostly because all of these questions have been answered thousands of times, both on and off Wikipedia.

These were the faces that I made the entire time I watched the video.

tlp6qsw

Seriously, you need to watch the full video in all of it’s Uncle Ruckus/Clayton Bigsby-influenced glory to really understand the ridiculousness of black people asking other black people questions that we already have the answers to.

Why are we more likely to get engaged in the latest dance trend than we are to get involved in politics or opening a business? 

Did someone’s granny write this question? Because my granny used to ask me this same question when she wanted to shame me for not being a more politically aware. I feel like that’s what happened here.

How did watermelon become our thing? Like, everybody should love watermelon. 

Did dude just say, “Forget history class, I’m out,” when he asked this question?

Why do we call each other the “n-word” but get vehemently upset when a white person uses the “n-word?”

Do we really need to rehash this question?

Why is my natural hair, the hair that grows out of my head, seen as a political statement? 

Didn’t Angela Davis address this question in detail years ago?

But the question that almost made me spill my yak was the one about fatherless black kids.

Why is growing up without a father so common in our race?

Do you know how many black men have answered this question? Booker T. Washington answered this question in Chapter 1 of his memoir, Up From Slavery. David Hilliard even went into detail about the destruction of black families in his memoir This Side of Glory. It’s insane how many times and ways this question has been answered.

tcmpva1

The spirits of our foremothers and forefathers are rolling in their graves at the audacity of this video. What’s even more dangerous about this video is the fact that someone who probably gave up on ever going to a library a long time ago, probably thinks that these questions have merit.

 

752aamg6x6rgk

Don’t get me wrong, I love frequenting BuzzFeed, and I especially love their videos. This is just not one of them. I’m still wondering how in the hell these questions were considered legitimate questions to ask.

What I do know is that I find it amazing that Google is always within reach, and yet no one used it to find the answers to these questions.

Meanwhile, we still don’t know “Who in the hell left the gate open?” That’s a question that actually needs answering, from one black person to another. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

