On Transgender Bathrooms & Why You Should Focus On The Magic In Your Own Pants

Every time my kid uses the bathroom anywhere, I get scared.

This year at school, his bully prison punched him in the bathroom. In a separate incident, another little boy tried to kiss him multiple times while he was trying to leave the bathroom. So at school, my son’s teachers work hard to protect all kids using the bathroom, because many of them have had the same issues with the same children.

Thanks to the bad experiences my child has had with using his school bathrooms, I get scared when we he uses them when we go out to restaurants, hotels, or theaters. This is why I make him use the family restroom, or I stand outside of the men’s room and knock on the door furiously when he’s taking too long. I also admit that I’ve walked into the men’s room once or twice, and snatched my son out of there when he tried to bathe himself at the bathroom sink. Thankfully, the other dads in there just laughed it off.

Unfortunately, my son’s awful restroom experiences has always been at the hands of cisgendered boys, and I would imagine that there are parents of transgender kids have had the same issues, or worse. This is why  I think that protecting our kids from transgender people using the restroom is the least of my worries as a parent.

In case you’re unaware of the big debate, the transgender bathroom issue went a deeper when the Obama administration mandated that public schools across the nation who received federal funding had to allow transgender kids to use the restrooms and locker rooms that matched their gender they identity. According to Yahoo! News,

The guidance was issued just days after the Justice Department and North Carolina sued each other a state law requiring transgender people to use the public bathroom that corresponds to the sex on their birth certificate. The law applies to schools and many other places…

…The guidance issued on Friday is not legally binding, since the question of whether federal civil rights law protects transgender people has not been definitively answered by the courts and may ultimately be decided by the Supreme Court.

But schools that refuse to comply could be hit with civil rights lawsuits from the government and could face a cutoff of federal aid to education.

The issue seemed to have taken a sharp turn once state legislators from South Carolina, Arkansas, and Texas, among other states, vowed to ignore the presidents mandate because they disagree with it. In my local area, one school superintendent said that he would put his mandate in the shredder. According to 12News,

Port Neches-Groves Superintendent Dr. Rodney Cavness on Thursday slammed the Obama administration’s expected letter which is set to tell districts to allow transgender students to use the bathrooms of their choosing.

…Dr. Cavness did not mince words when telling 12News anchor Kevin Steele:

“I got news for President Barack Obama. He ain’t my President and he can’t tell me what to do. That letter (to be released to all public schools tomorrow) is going straight to the paper shredder. I have 5 daughters myself and I have 2,500 girls in my protection. Their moms and dads expect me to protect them. And that is what I am going to do. Now I don’t want them bullied… but there are accommodations that can be made short of this. He (President Obama) is destroying the very fiber of this country. He is not a leader. He is a failure.”

Opponents of the law says the bathroom issue is in place to protect children from sexual predators who may pretend to be transgender, but supporters say that those instances have been virtually nonexistent, and I couldn’t agree more.

Protecting my child from transgender people using a restroom is the least of my worries as a parent, because it’s never been an issue. I’m sure there has been plenty of transgender people who used the restroom with my son in it, and they’ve never bothered me or him.

But I personally have a problem seeing sketchy looking cisgendered dudes trying to walk in the restroom behind my child when he goes to take a pee. That’s when I have to snatch my son like a wig, and send him elsewhere to take care of his tinkles.

On the other hand, when my husband takes my son to go pee, it’s a different story. Because of racism and fear, sometimes within my own community, my husband – who is genuinely a cupcake – isn’t looked at as a tall dude with a heavy build. He’s seen as a big black guy who eats children, so sketchy looking people usually know to chill out when they see my husband walking with our son to the potty.

Also, I don’t want to worry about what someone else has going on in their pants while I’m using the restroom. I have enough magic happening in my pants, and I’m usually focused on that when I use the potty. As a normal 7-year-old boy, my son has the same issue.

The prejudices that people have been displaying as a result of this issue is absolutely disgusting. From what I’ve seen, it’s being used as a way for people to display their prejudices, and it’s ridiculous to use a bathroom issue as a way to channel that hate.

If you hate transgender people using the same restroom as you – which is something they’ve been doing for a long time already – then you’re welcome to do your business outside. As a friendly reminder, I’d encourage you to stand down wind.

ig36a36bkigm

Leave a Reply

