N.O.R.E.’s “Drink Champs” Podcast Interview With Young Jeezy Just Restored My Faith In Politics

If you’ve been reading this blog, then you already know that I like talking about politics. I’ve pissed some people off already, especially the person who called me the “n-word” on my blog. Classy, right?

Well the sad part about talking politics with people is that it makes people passionate enough to do extra dumb shit. I’m talking nonsensical, ridiculous shit. Like burn down a historic black church, and then spray paint “Vote Trump” on the side of the building. Or firebomb a GOP office in North Carolina.

I want to talk politics with people who makes the conversation fun. People who feel the same sentiment in not caring whether or not our opinions are received, but still respecting each other as people once the conversation is over.

With how this election is going, it’s rare to find safe spaces for people who want to talk politics like adults.

But there is one podcast that I’ve been indulging in that’s been making political discussions fun, and that’s N.O.R.E’s “Drink Champs” podcast.

screen-shot-2016-11-03-at-11-53-50-am

The legendary Queens rapper (left) and the historic DJ EFN leaves nothing off the table in their conversations, and I mean that. They had folks praying at the table (DMX), talking about their fuck boy tendencies (Shad Moss), and talking real spit about Donald Trump’s potentially abysmal presidency (Young Jeezy). The latter interview, Young Jeezy, was probably one of my favorites, and I took to the conversation because they were talking politics. While smoking pot and drinking.

Although I can’t talk back to them, I thoroughly enjoyed the conversation. Here’s why.

1. N.O.R.E. knows every fucking body. I mean, has there been a person, besides POTUS, that this man has never met? I don’t think so.

2. Everyone eventually talks shit before the end of the conversation. Perhaps it’s because of the alcohol, or maybe they’re already that kind of person. Either way, some shit will be talked at the table.

3. When Jeezy and N.O.R.E. had this exchange:

Jeezy: “You can have real money and still be a fuck nigga.” 

N.O.R.E.: He turned politics into a Smack DVD. 

4. When N.O.R.E. asked this magic question:

N.O.R.E.: Is Hip Hop strong enough to elect Kanye 2020?

Jeezy: I fucks with Kanye.

DJ EFN.: The arts would be crazy, though!

Jeezy: I don’t know if I want him to be my leader. 

N.O.R.E: There’s a chance that Trump may be ours! Kanye ain’t worse than Trump!

5. When Jeezy made this stark reality for the reason why Trump has so many supporters.

Jeezy: But the Republican Party is the most boringest party in the world. He’s just giving them excitement, they never had that. 

Although I didn’t agree with everything they said, it felt good to know that at the end of the conversation, there wasn’t going to be a fist fight. Or hurtful exchanges of words. Thank. God.

Tune in to “Drink Champs” on Play.It. If you’re easily offended, then don’t tune in. But if you have thick skin, then you’re going to enjoy yourself.

Leave a Reply

