I Have Some Questions For Jared Fogle’s Ex-Wife Following Her CBS News Interview

They say that what’s done in the dark eventually comes to light. As a wife, I know this to be especially true.

As a newlywed, I discovered my husband’s affinity for taking naked pictures of his female conquests from his days as a single man, after running across some lewd photos of his side chicks from years prior to us meeting. I admit that I was put off when I saw the photos. It made me wonder what naked photos he had secretly taken of me. We talked at length about it, and he promised me that was a part of his young life that he wished he’d never indulged in, and that the only photos he took of me were of me sleeping peacefully. Since then, I’m glad to say that he’s kept his promise.

My husband has worked so hard to rebuild that aspect of our broken trust, that there’s nothing that he could do in my house that I won’t know about. Besides sharing our spaces together, we also share passwords, phones, cloud access drives, and any other technologies that could be used for storage.

fogle5n-5-web

Perhaps that’s why I’m admittedly obtuse about Katie McLaughlin’s case. She’s the ex-wife of former Subway spokesman, Jared Fogle, who was imprisoned for pedophilia.

McLaughlin sat down with CBS News to talk about her pending lawsuit against the sandwich brand, claiming that they received complaints about Fogle’s pedophilia, but failed to tell police. She told CBS News correspondent Anna Werner that she found out about Fogle’s pedophilia when the FBI came to her doorstep. She said,

“He had two lives going on. You know, he was home with the kids and I in one life and he was out on the road in a different life, and he was able to keep those two very separate in a way that I couldn’t even fathom,” McLaughlin said.

“You know there are people out there who will hear you and will say, ‘how could she not know?’” Werner said.

“There are going to be people out there who believe what they want to believe about me,” McLaughlin said. “I mean, how could anyone think that I would stay married to a man and have children with a man who was doing this? Of course I wouldn’t be there. Of course I wouldn’t stay with him. I did not know.”

What I don’t understand how you could share everything with a man that you live with, and not know that he liked to touch on little children. Her interview with CBS was telling, inexplicably puzzling to me.

Now I have more questions for her, as a wife and a mom. I don’t think I’m being unfair by asking these questions, as I think many women with children are probably wondering the same.

Here is what I question.

1. WHAT ABOUT THE “CREEPY NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR” VIBE?

jared-leaves-home

Were there no rumors from neighbors or friends that Jared gave them the “creepy next door neighbor” vibe? I don’t know how it happens, but there are some moms who can sniff a creep from a mile away. So were there any neighbors who suddenly asked their kids to stop playing with the Fogle kids? There had to have been some warnings that concerned McLaughlin in the past.

 

2. DID McLAUGHLIN EVER QUESTION HOW JARED SPENT HIS DOWN TIME ON THE ROAD?

jared-fogle-money-problems

I don’t watch the VH-1 hit reality show “Basketball Wives” often, but when I do, I know that they complain a lot about their boyfriend’s/ex-husband’s/side piece’s road trips. Sometimes they talk at length about groupies their men meet on the road, and how it rubs them the wrong way. In fact, every woman that I’ve ever met with a husband who travels for his job is concerned about her man meeting a beautiful woman on the road.

So has McLaughlin ever questioned how Fogle spent his down time cheerleading for Subway? Did she ever think to do any surprise visits on the road? If she did do a surprise visit, did he ever do something that maybe indicated that he was a creep? I guess we won’t know until she decides to tell us.

3. THERE’S MEN WHO LOVE CHILDREN, AND THERE’S MEN WHO LOVE CHILDREN

I love watching men interact with children, especially the ones who want more babies. It’s cute to see men play with baby feet, and make funny faces. But it’s also cute when those same men equally enjoys giving children back to their moms after watching them, especially their own.

Did Fogle ever do anything around kids that made McLaughlin side eye how he interacted with them? Has a toddler ever pulled up her skirt (as most girl toddlers with skirts do) around Jared, and then she watched him speak at length about her underwear? Or did he offer to potty train his friend’s little boys a little too often for McLaughlin’s liking? How did she miss signs of him being a pedophile? I’m not sure that’s a quality you can hide around the clock.

4. WHAT DID THE EX-WIFE SAY?

Not all ex-wives are crazy, money hungry, or neurotic, as some people often paint their ex-wives to be following a divorce. I believe that Elizabeth Fogle, Jared’s first wife who he divorced in 2008, knew something was up with him.

According to Heavy, Elizabeth divorced Jared in 2008, and filed a restraining order against her during the divorce proceedings. If Jared wasn’t abusive, then why did Elizabeth file a restraining order against him?

 

Take a look at what CBS News Legal Analyst Rikki Klieman has to say about her case, and tell me your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

