Yup. I’m All The Way Here For Rep. John Lewis’ Version Of The Birther Movement

Do you know what it feels like to have something you’ve worked hard for taken away from you? I certainly do.

During one of my first appointments at the Veteran’s Affairs hospital in Houston, I once had someone question my legitimacy as a combat veteran. During Operation Enduring Freedom, I spent plenty of sleepless days and restless nights standing the watch on a guided missile destroyer. The person I was speaking with felt that just because I wasn’t engaged in combat with ground forces equated to me not being a combat veteran. Clearly, that lady lost her damn mind.

av72crbynieyo

What stinks about the issue is that I worked my ass off protecting my country, and it hurt that one person decided to challenge my legitimacy as a combat vet. She even studied my paperwork, and still thought that I was not fitting to wear the title of combat veteran.

Eventually, the nurse understood that if she put anywhere on my VA paperwork that I was not a combat veteran, she would loose her fingers. She ran away, and found someone else to help me.

That’s why I cheered when civil rights legend, Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.) questioned President-elect Trump’s legitimacy as POTUS during his “Meet the Press” interview with Chuck Todd. According to Yahoo!,

…Lewis said that the Russian government’s apparent interference with the U.S. election delegitimizes Trump’s victory.

“It’s going to be very difficult,” Lewis, who is boycotting Trump’s inauguration, told moderator Chuck Todd. “I don’t see this president-elect as a legitimate president.”

After Lewis said this, Trump rained down a barrage of insults on the Georgia senator, in the most Trump was possible – on Twitter.

susanne-posel-headline-news_-official-donald-trump_-tweet_-john_-lewis_occupycorporatism

I suppose President Trump forgot that 8 years ago, he took away the credentials of then Senator Barack Obama, who worked his ass off in service to our country. He did this by questioning the legitimacy of his birth certificate, his Harvard degree, and his religion, among other things. He led a white-ish witch hunt, filled with people who used racism to justify their questioning of Obama’s qualifications as POTUS, and now that he’s POTUS, I am supposed to forgive that?

giphy

I may be in the minority, but I am all the way here for Mr. Lewis’ version of the birther movement.

On a very basic level, it hurts to have someone take something away from you that you worked hard for. But on a deeper level, it feels like a knife driving through your skull when what they are doing is mired in racism.

Leave a Reply

